Join the discussion.

Inklings News

Join the discussion.

Inklings News

Join the discussion.

Inklings News

33 Students Inducted into Five World Language National Honor Society Chapters at Staples High School

30 students were inducted into the Latin, Italian, Chinese, German, and French honor societies on Mar. 29. | Photo by Jennifer Huettner

On March 29 the Staples World Language Department honored some of its finest students at the annual World Language National Honor Society inductions. The students earned membership into their respective Staples chapters of the Chinese, French, German, Italian and Latin national organizations. To attain membership in these national organizations students must receive stellar grades in their world language courses and must demonstrate a commitment to community service.

Principal John Dodig was the afternoon’s keynote speaker. He concluded his speech by encouraging students to world languages to gain understanding of foreign cultures.

Following the ceremony the students and their guests enjoyed a reception of regional cuisine provided by the current members of the honor society chapters at Staples.

The Chinese National Honor Society inducted the following students:

Courtney Chow, Flora Deng, Jessica Guo, Julia Holewinski, Cindy Im, Taylor McNair, Sarah Ressler and Lexie Schachne.

The French National Honor Society, Societe’ Honoraire de Francais, accepted the following students for membership:

Allison Blauvelt, Jonathan Friedman, Max Gibson, Julia Holewinski, David Katter, Sarah Ressler, Sofia Ribolla, Anya Rosen, Maya Schumer, Caroline Smith and Charlotte Smith.

The German inductees into the Delta Epsilon Phi chapter at Staples were:

Ryan Armour, Sofia Lindegren, Augustine Gradoux-Matt and Christiane Lueb.

In Italian the Società Onoraria Italica’s new members are:

Jonah Aelyon, Brittany Berlin, Ella Hirten, David Katter and Avery Watterworth.

The Staples chapter of the Honoris Societatis Latinae accepted the following students of Latin for membership:

Grace Osgood, Juliana Lunde, Morgan Goldberg, Jay Tsai and Caitlin McDonald.

A jazz quartet from Staples provided the music for the ceremony. The musicians were Austin Alianello, David Haswell, Mike Ljungberg and Danny Pravder.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All Inklings News Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *